College Advice: Roommate Edition

Hey guys! Welcome back. If you’re in college or will be soon you will more than likely have a roommate. I’ve had three roommates so far and none of them have been bad, but I know some don’t get as lucky as I did. But I am here to tell you why and how I have such great relationships with my roommates. Also, if you guys want a “Meet My Roommate” post let me know in the comments. So here is my advice for living with a roommate.

1. Don’t expect to be best friends. At least not on the first day. Like any relationship it takes time for you and your roommate to get to know each other and for that relationship to develop to whatever it is meant to be. My last roommate and I weren’t best friends, but we did get along.

2. I would recommend contacting them ASAP. Email them as soon as you have their information. This usually happens about a month before school starts. Start chatting and getting to know one another as soon as you can. This will help smooth the transition when you move in.

3. Discuss alarm clocks. And by this I mean figure out when you are going to bed and when you are getting up. This way you will know if you need to be quiet in the morning and things like that. You will most likely have different schedules so you need to be aware of who will be getting up first.

4. Sharing items. Some roommates choose to share things like a refrigerator, a microwave, and additional seating. You can also discuss if you would like to share additional items, such as a hair dryer, dishes, food, and other items that aren’t personal care necessities.

5. Study habits. This is important to discuss as soon as possible. If one person prefers to have noise while the other needs silence, alterations will need to take place. Just be honest with your roommate about what you need and they should be understanding.

6. Cleaning. This can be a major issue. I’m not the tidiest person, but my roommates never have been either. But if you are a person who needs everything to be super clean you may want to request a roommate who is the same way.

7. Dealing with noise. Whether it’s the TV, someone on the phone, or music playing you need to have a system of what to do. Maybe have a volume limit or request that the person leave the room when being on the phone. But only if it becomes an issue.

8. Visitors. Most often boys. If your roommate has a significant other or has a lot of boys around in your room, discuss the protocol. It’s not prying if you ask if there is a significant other. You don’t want to accidentally walk in on something.

9. Room temperature. I prefer a very cool room. But my last roommate liked it very warm. There had to be a compromise. It’s good to discuss these things with your roommate before hand so you know exactly what needs to be done when you arrive.

10. Discuss problems early on. If you have a major issue early on, bring it up. Don’t let it sit and build up. Just be open and honest with your roommate and see if the two of you can work out a solution. If not, bring in your R.A. That’s what they are there for.

I highly recommend making a roommate contract. There are plenty of samples and templates online that you can choose from. This is just something you both sign stating you understand the policies on noise, temperature, visitors, and other things. Having a roommate can be a great experience. Just be honest and allow them to be honest with you. Don’t let it be a bad experience and it won’t be.

Thank you so much for reading! I hope you enjoyed it. Please like it if you did. Don’t forget to follow if you are not already and I will see you next time!

5 thoughts on “College Advice: Roommate Edition

  1. Can you choose your roommate ? Like choose to be in a dorm with a friend that you made in uni or if you and your best friend are going together. This was a great post and yess I would like to see a meet my roommate blog. That would be really interesting. Maybe even do a roommate tag talking about the things you like and hate about each other + interesting stories.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. At some schools you can choose your roommate. But at the school I go to when you are a Freshman they choose for you. But after that you can live with whoever. But it’s still important to keep these things in mind. Sometimes living with your best friend doesn’t end well.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I so agree with your post! I’m a sophomore now so I get to choose my roommate. But in my freshmen year, my roommate and I had major alarm problems (she was the heaviest sleeper I’ve ever met in my life!!) At first I didn’t say anything to her but then we talked it out, and it ended up with me waking her up for classes. Lol.
    Good post to help out all the freshmen out there 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment